ADVOCATE OF THE MONTH : TIMIDI DIGHA-OMOLERE

After a very long hiatus, our “Red Ribbon Advocate of the Month” column returns. In this month of March; (a month where we celebrate women and girls globally), we would like for you to meet Timidi Digha; Feminist and girl child/Sexual Reproductive Health & Rights advocate. Timidi’s job as an advocate for the girl child, makes her very familiar with the challenges that young girls face in dealing with HIV/AIDS and other sexual health/rights issues…..

Timidi

I am Timidi Digha-Omolere (many people know me as Blessing Timidi Digha or SuperGirlTimidi). I am a Feminist and a girl child/Sexual Reproductive Health & Rights advocate. I have 10years experience in the non-profit sector. The journey into advocacy started fully after my Teenage Pregnancy experience in 2005, where I started Sexuality Education.  In the world of Sexuality Education and Sexual Reproductive Health and Rights, HIV/AIDS always surfaces. I earned a Bachelor of Technology in Food Science & Engineering from Ladoke Akintola University of Technology in Ogbomosho, Oyo State, Nigeria. Presently I am the Community Mobilization/Advocacy Officer at 9jaGirl; an organization which advocates for the girl child on all fronts with emphasis on Sexuality Education, Sexual Reproductive Health and Rights, HIV/AIDS, Female Genital Mutilation (and other Harmful Traditional Practices), Sexual Violence, Early Child Marriage, Education and other issues that affect the girl child.

I am interested and committed to the rights of the girl child because I know what it means to be deprived of so much “because I am A Girl” and I wouldn’t want any girl to pass through what I passed through while growing up because of inadequate and inaccurate information. Coincidentally, I have two beautiful daughters and I wouldn’t want their sex/gender to hold them back from attaining lofty heights.

When talking about the girl child, HIV/AIDS always come to play, this is because children, girls and women are among the most vulnerable population whenever epidemics or pandemics arise, so I implement projects on HIV/AIDS as it affects the girl child. The organization has been privileged to work with Female Sex Workers between the ages of 10-19. I appreciate the ability and platform to contribute towards adequate & accurate information on Sexual & Reproductive Health, informed choices and advocacy towards the development of a vulnerable group. I am passionate about HIV/AIDS because of the prevalence in Nigeria which is high, because it affects youths the most , and the fact that it can happen to anyone.

My ability to speak 10 Nigerian languages helps me in my work especially when I have to go into communities.

 BIGGEST LESSON ON THE JOB

Patience. I meet with a lot of resistance and different types of people when I go into communities. I have learnt how to listen well and win them over with patience.

I have also learnt to lead by example, by not stigmatizing persons living with HIV and Most At Risk Populations (MARPs)

I have learnt how to use Minimum Prevention Package of Interventions effectively not just in  HIV/AIDS  but all round.

 WISH 

That Government, CSOs, MDAs, groups etc working on girl child issues, SRHR and HIV/AIDS should work with accurate data and realistic interventions to contribute towards elimination of HIV/AIDS in Nigeria.

CONTACT DETAILS

Facebook- Blessing Timidi Digha II

Twitter- @SuperGirlTimidi

Email- supergirltimidi@gmail.com & 9jagirl@gmail.com

Phone number- 09090640967

RRA

3 thoughts on “ADVOCATE OF THE MONTH : TIMIDI DIGHA-OMOLERE

  1. Pingback: ADVOCATE OF THE MONTH : TIMIDI DIGHA-OMOLERE | Magarya

Leave a Reply

